The Beginning

In one week, I have to estimate that I’ve said “hashtag” at least 250 times.

Welcome to my first week as the Public Relations intern at NPK Associates, Incorporated!

While it hasn’t been solely revolving the term hashtag and its functions, it’s been a long/short week of teaching and learning. The past week has been a very out of the box experience which are typically the best kind to have. Right now, I’m in a city that I’ve only ever visited but have always wanted to live in. Hello, Chicago! But, let me just say, this is a whole new experience. Growing up in Michigan and Mississippi, I’ve dealt with all kinds of drivers, traffic, weather, and city life. But really, Chicago, you might just take the cake for being one of the wildest cities in all of those categories. Driving to work might just need to be its own internship –  I need major training.

But outside of the daily commute, I’ve learned an immense amount this past week about my company’s goals and operations. NPK, an interior landscape design company, creates amazing arrangements that are seen in nearly 200 buildings in Chicago. Each day, employees either are installing arrangements, servicing them, or creating them. Being able to be part of that this week has been very eye opening and extremely interesting.

The past week, I have worked in every position the company offers. I installed arrangements at a major hospital, serviced at one of the most beautiful locations I’ve ever seen, and helped to create gorgeous pieces that will soon be implemented in various company buildings. I’ve learned more about plants and design than I ever thought I would – and it’s just the first week.

Along with my learning, I’ve been teaching a lot, too. NPK has been around for 30 years and has gained an incredible client base all without the help of social media. Now, with my internship, I hope to be able to not only significantly expand their client base but also bring to light just how amazing this company is.

Yes, I may have to reteach what a hashtag is used for – thank you, Jimmy Fallon. But the social media is just a small part of what I hope to achieve here at NPK.

Be sure to check in weekly on what’s new with me, NPK, and Chicago!

In the meantime, follow NPK on all your favorite social media pages!

@npkplantscape: Twitter and Instagram

http://www.facebook.com/npkinterior

x.

View from an account on Lakeshore Drive. Hellllooooo, Lake Michigan!

View from an account on Lakeshore Drive. Hellllooooo, Lake Michigan!

Letters to be used for our expo next week! Can't wait to show the finished product.

Letters to be used for our expo next week! Can’t wait to show the finished product.

Kuwa branches and moss. Looking good for a summer design!

Kuwa branches and moss. Looking good for a summer design!

4 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. Teresa says:

    Go girl! Take the world by storm! I love seeing all the fun things you are experiencing. Take care of yourself up there!

    Like

  2. Renae says:

    Chicago, Lake Michigan, your life dreams and goals all coming together!!! Work hard, enjoy the experience, and be safe. I’m looking forward to sharing the experience through your eyes.

    Like

Your Thoughts?

